The way things are….in the eyes of Kate Bosch

Kate is my sister-in-law but more importantly, a faithful friend.  She is the wife to Ethan and the Mom to my wonderful nephews Hendrix, Milo and Wylder.  She has such a gift with words and there’s not a moment that goes by that I don’t learn something from her  and what God is doing in and through her life.  I hope you are challenged by her words like I am!

I wish I could say that I dealt with chaos well. It’s just not me. I can go with the flow- when that flow is slow, calm, relaxed and directed. But, when the flow is crazy and going in fifty different directions I just can’t “go with it”. I mean the word “flow” doesn’t even sound like it should be chaotic. Doesn’t it sound more peaceful, like a river? Anyway, me and chaos are not a good mix. So, needless to say, with an almost 3 year old and TWO five month olds– I have been doing a lot of growing. Annnd a lot of pulling out my hair and throwing laundry.

I have beat myself up often for not being more ‘free’ in the way I do life. I often feel like a drag for needing to know details and for being such a ridiculous planner. Especially with people who are so carefree! I’ve tried to go through my days, weeks, months without planning them first and I just feel completely lost. Like a chicken with it’s head cut off.
But God is so good and He recently gave me this word:
“My child, don’t lose sight of good planning and insight. Hang on to them, for they fill you with life and bring you honor and respect. They keep you safe on your way and keep your feet from stumbling. You can lie down without fear and enjoy pleasant dreams. You need not be afraid of disaster or the destruction that comes upon the wicked, for the Lord is your security. He will keep your foot from being caught in a trap.” Proverbs 3: 21-26
I love this. God gave me a little pat on the back with that one. I may be a good planner, but let’s face it– my plans are not always perfect. Thank God that He is right there as my security to keep me going! He won’t let me get caught in a trap. Because His plans are always perfect and my prayer is that mine are somewhat in line with His!
As a wife and mother, I feel like I need to have a plan. A plan for each day: one-on-one time with each of my kids, time with God, something fun and usually outside for Hendrix, regular naps for the babies, DINNER quality time with Ethan and maybe a little me time. Now, I don’t always hit all of those things, but on the days that I have a plan– everyone in my family is happier. And my head is still connected to my body. yay!
I have realized that this life is not mine. I am humbled daily by the great need my children and my husband have for me. Everyday I need to wake up with a plan. A plan to be who, where and what I am needed to be for these men God has blessed me with.
I can do that. God made me a planner, after all. – Kate
One thought on “The way things are….in the eyes of Kate Bosch

Leave a Reply

